Chak De-India

Standard

800px-chakdeindia.jpg

I went to see Chak De-India. I didn’t know what is the meaning of Chek De. But I know the meaning of India. That was the other reason along with my fren’s pestering that I went to see the movie. It is not a unique movie. It’s about bringing a failing or in this movie a team of girls’ hockey team to the world cup against all odds. And this is done by a captain who was once insulted by his own Indians, that’s us, for losing the winning goal in a hockey finals against Pakistan.

The obvious is Shah Rukh have grown old or is aging very gracefully. He still has the look and charisma. He brought out his emotions through his eyes so well that on many instances I felt tears welling up in my own eyes. In short the movie touched my heart. And also made me think back to last year, the Cricket World Cup. Maybe we have been too rash, insensitive and thoughtless. As the saying goes let bygones be bygones, I would like to put that aside and come to the point that HOCKEY IS OUR NATIONAL GAME!!! I have been an Indian for last 20 odd years, which is my whole life and I didn’t know that hockey is our national game. I always thought that cricket is our national game seeing the importance given to it. Why isn’t much importance given to our national game?? Does this result in our cricket players’ complacent attitude? Maybe. Like myself, I am sure that there are many out there who didn’t realize this. I feel that hockey should be given a chance. I got reminded of a few years back during some asian game where I saw a hockey game between India and Pakistan. And India lost, but there was the talent there. If more opportunity was given, I am sure they would have done well.

One thing about this bothered me a lot. The fact that some of the Indians told that Kabir Khan(SRK) should have gone to Pakistan when the partition happened, when the Indian team lost. Feel angry or disappointed coz he didn’t make our team win, but whatever it is we should never ever use religion and separate them. They are Indians regardless of what religion they are. That would be the most hurting thing, to be separated in your country.

The 16 girls acted well. Whether it was to show attitude, doubt or sadness. It was good. The one thing i wanted to know was why the girl who acted as Preeti never smiled. She was always frowning. But I liked the ending, when she rejected her overconfident and most irritating boyfriend. I liked the short girl especially. She looked very cute..haha..other then that they were good. I have got nothing much to say anything more.

I was thinking of changing my citizenship to Singaporean citizenship. My reason was that, it was the practical thing to do. My family is here. I spent my whole life here. And most likely I wont ever go back to India permanently. And the most important reason I gave was that, as long as I feel Indian in my heart, it doesn’t matter what colour is your identity card. Its not true at all. It matters. Once you are an Indian, you are always one. No other flag would look that magnificent as our Indian flag when you are an Indian. No other word would fill you with so much happiness, pride and love as “I am an Indian.” No other country would make you say with so much pride that, that is my country like India. In short, you never change. I am an Indian and I wont ever want to change it anyway. And this movie made me realize the beauty of calling myself an Indian.

“I AM AN INDIAN.”

Of course, the only regret I am going to have is that I wont be able to go to High Commission to attend my National Day. But its ok. Even when I cannot attend the National Day, I know I am proud of my country and my nationality regardless of anything.

8 responses »

  1. நீங்க இந்தியக் குடிமகள் என்பது ஆச்சரியம். நான் தங்களின் எழுத்தைவைத்து நீங்கள் சிங்கைத்தமிழ்க்குடிமகள் என்றல்லவா எண்ணியிருந்தேன். இந்தியர் என்று நினைப்பதே பெருமைதான். அது என்னவோ கடல் தாண்டி வந்தாலும், இந்தியாவைப் பற்றிப் பேசும்போதோ, இந்திய தேசிய கீதத்தைக் கேட்கும்போதோ ஏற்படும் உணர்வு விவரிக்க இயலாதது. நான் இதுவரை ஹைகமிஷன் சென்று சுதந்திரதினக் கொண்டாட்டங்களில் கலந்து கொண்டதில்லை. இந்த முறை செல்லலாம் என்றிருக்கிறேன்.

  2. அது அப்படித்தான். நான் ரொம்ப வருஷமாக சிங்கையில் இருப்பதால் என்னுடைய பேச்சு மற்றும் எழுதும் முறை எல்லாம் சிங்கையைச் சேர்ந்தவர்கள் மாதிரித்தான் இருக்கும். எனக்கே சில ஆண்டுகளுக்கு முன்புத்தான் ஹைகமிஷனில் சுதந்திரதினத்தைக் கொண்டாடலாம் என்று எனக்கே தெரியும். இந்தியர்கள் சுற்றி இருக்க நம்முடைய தேசிய கொடி ஏறும் போது, அதனுடைய அழகே தனித்தான்..அதுவும் வருடத்துக்கு ஒரு முறை அன்றுத்தான் நம்முடைய தேசியக் கீதத்தைப் பாட முடியும்..

  3. Oh… what a bad pity… If i had known it before, i would have gone to high commission…. This is first time in my life time, i have not seen my national flag on the independence day….😦

  4. காற்றில் சுதந்திரமாய் பறக்கும் கொடியை பார்த்து சல்யூட் அடிப்பதில் சந்தோஷமா?? அறையில் தனியே உட்கார்ந்து பார்ப்பது சந்தோஷமா???

    உங்களுடைய பழைய பதிவில், பெண், வாழ்க்கைப்பற்றி கருத்து தெரிவித்து இருந்தேன்.

  5. உங்கள் கருத்தைப் பார்த்தேன். மிக்க நன்றி. காற்றில் பறக்கும் கொடியைப் பார்க்க முடியாவிட்டால் இதுத்தான் ஒரே வழி. இந்த வழியிலாவது என் நாட்டு கொடியைப் பார்த்தேன் என்ற மகிழ்ச்சி..

  6. கருத்துக்கு நன்றியா??? நான் வாக்குவாதம் நடக்கும் என எதிர்பார்த்தேன்.🙂

    நாட்டுகொடியை பார்க்க வேண்டுமென்றால், கூகிளில் தட்டினால் கிடைத்து விட போகிறது. சுதந்திர தினத்தின் போது, கொடியை அண்ணாந்து பார்த்து சல்யூட் அடிப்பது, பிறந்த நாளன்று, பெற்றவளின் காலில் விழுந்து ஆசி வாங்குவது போலாகும். இந்த வருடம் கொடுப்பினை இல்லை. அடுத்த வருடம் பார்க்கலாம்.

    இது எனது வலைப்பூ, நேரம், விருப்பம் இருந்தால், வந்து செல்லுங்கள். கமெண்டுங்கள்.

    http://maheshan.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

