Flowers

Standard

flowers.jpg

It was once told – no matter how much
you love a man, no matter how much

he may love you, but if ever he lifts a hand and
hits you…he’s not worth it.

I do not think this is easy…but I guess it is
true…..

I got flowers today.
It wasn’t my birthday or any other special day.
We had our first argument
last night, and he said alot of cruel! things that
really hurt me. I know he is sorry and didn’t mean
the things he said, because he sent me flowers
today.

I got flowers today.
It wasn’t our anniversary or any other special day.
Last night, he threw me into a wall and started to
choke me. It seemed like a nightmare. I couldn’t
believe it was real. I woke up this morning sore
and
bruised all over. I know he must be sorry.
Because
he sent me flowers today.

I got flowers today,
It wasn’t Mother’s Day or any other special day.
Last night, he beat me up
again. And it was much worse than all the other
times. If I leave him, what
will I do? How will I take care of my kids? What
about money? I’m afraid of
him and scared to leave. But I know he must be
sorry. Because he sent me
flowers today.

I got flowers today.
Today was a very special day. It was the day of
my funeral. Last night, he
finally killed me. He beat me to death. If only I had
gathered enough
courage and strength to leave him, I would not
have gotten flowers today.

2 responses »

  1. oh no..I din mean to portray flowers as smth negative. I just thght the poem is smth different..and kind of sad..tats all..flowers are always beautiful..they brightened up the world..:)

Leave a Reply

