When I Whine

Standard

When I Whine

By Red Foley

Today upon a bus, I saw
A lovely maid with golden hair;
I envied her – she seemed so gay –
And oh, I wished I were so fair.
When suddenly she rose to leave,
I saw her hobble down the aisle,
She had one foot and wore a crutch,
But as she passed, a smile.
Oh, God, forgive me when I whine;
I have two feet – the world is mine.

And when I stopped to buy some sweets,
The lad who served me had such charm;
He seemed to radiate good cheer,
His manner was so kind and warm.
I said, “It’s nice to deal with you,
Such courtesy I seldom find.”
He turned and said, “Oh, thank you, sir!”
And I saw that he was blind.
Oh, God, forgive me when I whine;
I have two eyes – the world is mine.

Then, when walking down the street,
I saw a child with eyes of blue.
He stood and watched the others play;
It seemed he knew not what to do,
I stopped a moment, then I said:
“Why don’t you join the others, dear?”
He looked ahead without a word,
And then I knew; He could not hear.
Oh, God, forgive me when I whine;
I have two ears – the world is mine.

With feet to take me where I’d go,
With eyes to see the sunset’s glow,
With ears to hear what I should know:
I’m blessed indeed, The world is mine;
Oh, God, forgive me when I whine.

*I just had to share this poem with everyone..I am quite sure that i am not the only one who was ashamed of all the times i whined and complained on and on, when I read this poem..I am sure there are many out there who do the same thing..So here it is for myself and all out there..Something to reflect on and realise how true is it.*

2 responses »

  1. Yes, I have heard this poem before. I read it in a book once. I love it. It certainly makes us thankful for the things we have and helps us to appreciate the simple gifts in life.

  2. oh..I got it in a email..I think..ya it does make us thankful for all the things we have..its a motivational poem in way..🙂

Leave a Reply

